+2
Fixed

Premium features

Ellex H Art 7 months ago in iOS • updated by Jona (Co-Founder & Lead Developer) 5 months ago 18

Trying to buy the premium features- but the app just won’t load them at all. Trying to load them makes a white subscreen and thats as far as it goes. Cannot see the cost- or anything. 

Answer

Answer
Fixed

Hi guys! Thanks for posting about this! We have been working to resolve this and I apologize for not being able to give you a response or update fast enough. 


We just released version 1.3.6 which has introduced new extensive changes to the in-app purchasing code. I really hope this new update resolves all mentioned issues. Let us know!


Also i think its stupid that i have to pay to import my own audio.

Sorry to hear that it won't work properly! What device are you using? Do you have the newest app?

Concerning the audio thing, you could always add it afterwards in a video editing programme. If you need it for animating lip-synching that's a whole different problem then :/

Ipad, And yes i have the newest version of the app. (My first step in fixing any glitches is to check for updates)

Audio- Yes its for lip syncing and timing. Newbie animator here not to familiar with syncing anything- especially when i can’t play side by side.

Still not fixed after update

I guess i’ll just wait until i get a computer, And get a real animation program. You guys are arrogent- not only to me but many other complainsts of similar calibre.

If this is addressed at me:

I'm only a user of the app, not part of the development team (which I stated countless times in many other questions/critics). If you check my last posts I took the time to answer as much questions to anyone as good & quick as possible, trying to help fellow animators. In your case I asked for the device, since this is asked for by the developers so that they could potentially identify the problem if they ever read it (There's a couple of iPads in existence however already so your reply wasn't helping much either, since any proper bug report would need also the info of the iOS version and the hardware). 
I have made my fair constructive critic towards the app not only here but also by mail towards the developers (who haven't responded). 
The forum on here is a mess & that is most likely the developers fault for choosing such a system, but there's also the users who 99% do not even try a search before asking a question or calling something a bug, using the app wrong because they didn't even watch the instruction video. Over the holidays alone I guess more than a 100 posts like that could have been avoided if people actually try out the app before asking or by reading/watching the video.

I'm a professional animator so I understand the issue with sound you have. There's also Clip Studio Paint as an app which might be suited better for the lip-synching. Other than that, I have tested about any animation app for the new iPadPro and can say that while FlipaClip is very from perfect it is the easiest to use to get any animation off the ground. This thing was clearly never made for all parts of an animation production.

In that sense sorry for a rude reply- I’m new to the forum and you sounded like a developer. I only joined this forum i wanted this issue fixed. As for my response- i wallways forget to write my ipad type as this is my first tablet. It was getting incredibly frustrating, and honestly most apps do not have a responsive network so i get peeved off to why they have them at all- If i’m only going to be left in the dirt anyway. I don’t like helping a bad buisness and if the buissness is bad- i’ll let people know i’m not happy. Regardless i didn’t mean it to a fellow user and i am sorry for that, But its sad you replied befor any mod did. Thanks for the other info though, Again sorry but the mods are frustrating as i see alot of messages ignored, i understand they can be hard to get to, But at the time i was just getting increasingly frustraited and saw nothing being done of it. :/ i wish you a good day.

+1

Hi buddy :) No problem! Thanks for the explanation/excuse though :) I totally understand your frustration! I wish the mods would catch up with the most urgent issues of their app at least. 

Here's a list of alternatives that might suit your needs better (I have yet to try these)

https://appadvice.com/collection/animation-apps-for-ipad

Either way a good day to you too :)

+1
Under review

Hi Ellex, we are sorry to hear that and thank you for letting us know the issue. With the latest version of FlipaClip, you can import your own audio by watching rewarded ads. Could you provide more info to help us replicate the issue by answer the following questions:

What iPad do you have?

What OS version is it running?

What does it loads forever?

What country are you from?

Do you have a stable internet connection?

Ipad air 2

I’m not sure what OS is. version 1.3.4 flipaclip 

Trying to get premium features, the load screen stays forever and i can’t get into the purchase screen. See above post in replies.

Australia

yes i have stable conection.

+1

hello, I am also having this same problem. I own a 10.5” iPad Pro running on 12.1.1. I have purchased the premium features on a separate android tablet and had no problems whatsoever. 

If i try and “purchase” the premium features on my iPad, it will just show the loading screen. Won’t even give the option to purchase. TT

I have restarted my iPad, tried redownloading the app, searching up solutions, but whatever I do, nothing works. 

I don’t think it has anything to do with country or internet, it’s probably just a bug for some iOS users :(


+2

I too have an iPad 10.5 pro;  iOS 11.3.1 and I am not able to load the premium features at all

i just want to give flipaclip my money lmAo ;;

I know right? What company prevents users from spending? Its been at least 2 months and it still isn’t fixed. :/ 

+1

THE UPDATE HAS FIXED THE ISSUES. 

Answer
Fixed

Hi guys! Thanks for posting about this! We have been working to resolve this and I apologize for not being able to give you a response or update fast enough. 


We just released version 1.3.6 which has introduced new extensive changes to the in-app purchasing code. I really hope this new update resolves all mentioned issues. Let us know!